Mario Burgos

Singer | Songwriter | Producer | Composer

Wait... an album? What!?

WOW! It's been a while since I've updated this! Sorry about that! 

I have been hard at work at my retail job, but I've also been spending some (way too much, probably) time going through each track trying to find things to mix and edit for my "DeepLove" album. I was conflicted about the content of this album. I will admit that this album is HEAVY. For a first album, it is risky having such in-your-face realness without the catchy club bangers to bring more attention to the album. I decided that I didn't care. I'll write a little more about why I made that choice in a bit. Anyway,  I've been wrestling with the tracklist. The second I think I have it completely finished, I find another song that would fit, or I write one that would be perfect. That being said, I've promised to myself that this last change is the final list. I thought of making this post about each track and how they fit into the story, but I've decided against that. After listening to the album over and over, and having a few choice people listen to it thoroughly, it has become apparent that the songs speak for themselves. 

I like to believe that my lyric writing skills have come a long way since my teenage years. It's important to stay honest with myself as a growing songwriter. With this album, I  compiled songs that were written within the last 5 years (I won't tell you which are the old ones :P). In reality I guess you could say "DeepLove" is my version of Beyonce's "Lemonade". There is so much heartbreak and uncertainty in the album. At its core, "DeepLove" is an emotional cry for help. I dig into mental illness, being lied to, being cheated on, open relationships and the inevitable downfall, being able to see beauty in yourself, forgiving yourself, finding strength in the worst moments, and the fears of finding a new and true love. I find something so beautiful in being able to let others hear my story through my music. I sing things I can't say or express during normal conversations. You can hear the vulnerability. You can feel the passion and terror. You can hear the imperfections that come with self-acceptance. Personally, to release this album is huge and terrifying for me, because I've been keeping all of this to myself for years. 

I'm excited to let this chapter of my life come to a close. The more I sing the music, the more I heal, but I'm a different person now. I have found a great guy that believes in me and pushes me to be great. He inspires me to inspire others. The changes I'm making to myself are easier because he's growing with me. I'm not perfect. I have some changes to make. This I know. Things can be rough and we still need our alone time and time to grow as individuals, but we complement each other so well. I still accept that I have been damaged, used, bruised and broken down and I'm still recovering, but it's easier with someone that is willing to give his all to me. So, thank you, Cory. I feel I wouldn't have been able to complete this chapter of my life without you and I look forward to seeing how our bond grows in the future. Just be patient with me and I will be patient with you. I am striving to be better. Just gotta work on my budgeting skills! :P

I've already started working on music for the next album, but that's a while in the making. Get pumped! I'm trying to go for a lighter, more fun tone. So, that's something to look forward to! :) 

January 13, 2017 will be the release date. Save the date! 

1. Killing Me
2. Growing Pains
3. This Bed
4. Downfall (What Do I Do)
5. Straight for the Heart
6. Used to Be
7. Under Water
8. Recognition
9. No Longer Made of Stone
10. Free
11. Past Lives
12. Heartbeats
13. DeepLove
14. The Way You Did Last Night
15. Recognition (Stripped Bonus Version)

Powered by Squarespace

All musical content is Registered and Copyrighted
UNLESS noted as a "Cover"